Day One

Image

“We can’t go out. Not for any reason.” Colette’s voice was quiet, but firm, her position clear.

“But we can’t just sit here and wait.” Jabari said, taking the opposite position. “We’ll starve to death if we do.”

“If we find some seeds or somethin’, I can plant in the back. That ground is good.” Louis said.

Personally I couldn’t figure why we were even having this discussion. People were still out there. . . Maybe we could find someone, bring them back. It wasn’t that I really cared about them or anything, but the more people we had, the higher chance of survival. We needed to survive. Besides, maybe someone we knew was still out there. . . I couldn’t sit here. I couldn’t stay.

Angelia stood without a word, heading towards the staircase leaving the basement.

Colette followed her lead, standing. “Where are you going, young lady?”

“Out.”

“You can’t go out. It’s dangerous.”

“I’ll find us some seeds.”

“Angelia!”

She didn’t respond again, instead just walking away, the group still sitting in silence.

ROLLS

Starting rolls : 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 (cook; fighter; architect; farmer; handyman)

Angelia leaving the lot : 6 (nothing happens) 

Leave a comment